260 pounds of sausage in a 150 pound casing!

On June 2nd I finally had the MRI.  It was supposed to be a simple 40 minute procedure but when I got there I realized that this was going to be nothing but simple.

I registered at out-patient admitting, and went down to the MRI office only to be told that they had the appointment, but no order for the MRI.  When I asked who needed to send/sign the order I was told the neurologist.

The MRI tech said he would call up to neurology and page the doctor to get a signed order.  An hour went by with me sitting watching soaps in the waiting room.  Victor is really an SOB isn’t he?

The tech came out and said that they still hadn’t heard from the doctor or neurology, and he would give me the option, reschedule the MRI (that wasn’t going to happen) or see if I could motivate the neuro department to do something.  I opted for the latter, and hobbled my way up to the neurology department.  The walk was a twenty-minute hike for me, with two stops along the way to regain use of my legs and catch my breath.

When I got to neurology Mr. Personality was at the desk.  “DO YOU HAVE AN APPOINTMENT?”

“No, I’m here because nobody here bothered to do their job and send orders down to the MRI department for my test.  Does anyone here know what the hell they are doing?”

It is amazing how quickly people’s attitudes and demeanor change when you have caught them in incompetence.  Mr. P started talking rapidly to one of the other staff, “YOU’RE MY WITNESS, I TOLD THEM THEY NEEDED TO GET THE ORDER DOWN THERE.  I TOLD YOU THEY CALLED.  YOU’RE MY WITNESS!”

What a JOKE!  Someone, ANYONE, do your damned job and send the order down to MRI.  DON’T pass the buck or try and cover your ass, just do your job and get the order down there.  To make sure I was not forgotten in the labyrinth of the neuro department I parked my exhausted legs and rear in a chair right in front of the check in desk and refused to move.  I kept asking every few minutes if and when I was going to get the order.  The staff scrambled like roaches when a light comes on.  Twenty minutes later I had the order in my hand, and made the hike back down to MRI.  WHAT A BUNCH OF MORONS!  And these are the people who are supposed to help me?

I have had MRIs before, and they are more a nuisance than anything else.  The cramped space and noise is tiresome, but somehow this one was different.

To start off I have put on a few pounds due to my lack of being as mobile as I used to be.  The extra 35-40 pounds that I have put on over the past two years made the tube tighter than I had remembered.  Normally I sleep during a MRI, but this time I could feel my body actually get hot, almost feeling like I was boiling from the inside.  Not what I had experienced before.

Forty minutes later the test was done, and I was sent home. Within three hours I started to feel sick.  I had a severe headache and started having blurred vision.  Not something I had experienced before with an MRI.  I originally thought that it may have been a reaction to the contrast, so I decided to wait it out a day or two to see if the problems passed.  They didn’t.

I sent an e-mail to the neurology doctor, and called the clinic where my primary doctor worked.  I wasn’t able to get through to a human, so I left a message.  The MRI was on Thursday, and this was now Wednesday the following week, and the headaches and vision problems persisted.  On Friday I called the neuro department and left a message advising them of the problems, and called the clinic again.  This time I got through to a staff member at the clinic.  She advised to call neurology.  Already have.  She advised if the problem persisted to get to the ER as soon as possible.  That always seems to be the default answer – Go to the ER.

So on Sunday June 12th I was at the ER, but that is another story.

About Joseph Ordower

I'm a middle aged, some would say curmudgeon, who is sick, tired and truly frustrated with the way things are going in a country (America) that he loves, honors and respects.
This entry was posted in Doctor's visits, Incompetence, Tests. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

