It’s like kissing your sister!

Yesterday I had to run to the store to pick up some vitally needed items: sweet & low for my coffee and ice cream.  I’ve been having a craving for ice cream for weeks, and even though I am trying to watch what I eat so I don’t get any fatter, the cravings won out.

I was in the ice cream aisle with a mom and her tween daughter.  While I was trying to decide between the $7 brand name or the $3.50 generic (the generic won) I was listening in on their conversation.  Rude I know, but it was funny.

The daughter wanted “ice cream”, it didn’t matter what brand, she wanted the real thing, and especially chocolate.  I feel ya kid!  If you’re gonna eat ice cream, eat ice cream.  Not this namby pamby sugar-free, fat-free, soy substitute crap.  They went back and forth for a few minutes, and the mom won out.  Of course the mom won out, she has the MONEY, and should.  BUT, I understand where the kid was coming from.

There are somethings in life that are, by their very nature, designed to bring joy and happiness to people.  A really good cup of coffee; puppies and kittens; babies (provided you don’t have to change the diaper); sunsets; sunrises; the touch of a loved one; a warm fire on a cold winter’s night and ICE CREAM!

You can buy the junk that they are passing off as “ice cream” if you want, but the real thing has sugar, cream, some favorite flavoring (mine is anything with chocolate) and a smoothness and richness that only comes from being real.  This sugar-free, fat-free soy concoction may work for some people.  For me it would be like kissing my sister (if I had one).  Yeah, you got a kiss, but yuck, it just ain’t the same as kissing the little red-headed girl who lives down the street.

About Joseph Ordower

I'm a middle aged, some would say curmudgeon, who is sick, tired and truly frustrated with the way things are going in a country (America) that he loves, honors and respects.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

