Wait for it, wait for it, wait for . . . oh what the heck, you might as well give up!

Yesterday, Monday, I was to have a follow-up with my neurologist.  I was hoping to get some information regarding the MRI I had done on June 2nd.  The same MRI that almost did not happen due to the incompetence of the neurology clinic.  However, I got a call last Friday from Mr. Personality at the clinic advising that the appointment was cancelled, the doctor was unavailable.  The new appointment is, are you ready for this, September 26th.

Granted, I have a couple of other tests slated between now and then, and hopefully when I do go in September they will be able to give me ALL the results.  The part that ticks me off the most is that I do not know good, bad or ugly what the results were of the MRI, and when I have called to ask I get told that I need to speak to the neurologist.  I would love to, if I could get in to see her.

It took three and half months just to get the MRI, and now I am being told that I have to wait another two and half months just to get the results.  I would like to think that if there was something on the MRI that was critical they would call me and let me know.  However, I had a friend who was going to the same public hospital who had to have surgery.  She didn’t find out until six months after the surgery that she had cervical cancer.  Fortunately for her, they seemed to have gotten all the cancer cells and she is going to be fine.  I only hope that when I do get to see the neurologist they can tell me the MRI was clear, but then again, I’m not going to hold my breath.

The public healthcare system is so over loaded with more and more patients that the most simple thing like calling and reassuring a patient that they don’t have a tumor or some other problem has been tossed out the window.  The patients are not humans any longer, but simply numbers and appointments.  Let me clarify that, in some areas of the public healthcare system the patients are no longer humans.  There are some departments that still take the time to provide patient care versus just cranking out numbers.  I only hope that, as the tide of patients continues to swell, those departments don’t lose their souls to the numbers game.

About Joseph Ordower

I'm a middle aged, some would say curmudgeon, who is sick, tired and truly frustrated with the way things are going in a country (America) that he loves, honors and respects.
This entry was posted in Doctor's visits. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

