Cat got your tongue?

Today is very weird.  I woke up, had my coffee and started to catch up on the news.  Then I started having the vision problems that I had awhile ago.  I ended up taking a nap for a couple of hours, woke and still had vision and balance problems.  I went back to bed, and slept for another two hours and woke up feeling like my vocal cords were being squeezed.  It made it difficult to talk above a whisper for nearly an hour.

I’ve been having intermittent problems with speech over the past several months, some days I have spurts and fits of sounding like I am talking gibberish.  I can think and see in my mind the words, yet they come out all over the place, and sound like I am speaking a foreign language.  Then there are days where everything flows and I sound normal.

If it wasn’t so aggravating, it would actually be funny.  But not being able to communicate to others clearly makes some days extremely difficult.  I know there is the possibility that as things progress with my body I may lose the ability to communicate verbally.  I’m sure that there are some folks that can’t wait for that day, but in the mean time I have to deal with what to do on those days where my voice escapes me.

One suggestion I had made to me was a white board, but my hand writing is so bad, that it would look like I was writing gibberish.  Another suggestion was to start recording words so if the day ever came where I can’t speak or speak clearly I could use a voice synthesizer to play back my own voice to whomever I was talking to.  I know there are different options, and I will probably have to decide on something in the not to distant future.  But for now I will simply try to be patient with myself and my body and keep holding on to my faith that, come what may, things will work out.

About Joseph Ordower

I'm a middle aged, some would say curmudgeon, who is sick, tired and truly frustrated with the way things are going in a country (America) that he loves, honors and respects.
This entry was posted in Illness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

