National Novel Writing Month

One of the joys of writing a blog is that you can voice your thoughts, opinions, and ideas in a non-traditional, new media form.  Granted, you might not have the readership of a New York Times or Washington Post (come to think of it, they don’t have much of a readership any more as it is), but the “new media” does allow for the individual to be heard.

Writing this blog has been fun, and great therapy for me.  It has allowed me a venue with which to document my travels through public healthcare, and a place to vent my frustration over various issues that I have observed and experienced.  It has also been the source of frustration for several friends.  I have been told that I am too personal with some of my comment, discussions about gray hairs and the effects of gravity on the human body are of a private nature and that I need to temper my topics a bit.

I can already hear the eyes rolling and the deep sighs of indignation when they read about the colonoscopy.  But this is my Ninety-Five Theses, my Federalist Papers, my Poor Richard’s.  Not that I am trying to equate myself with such giants as Luther, Madison, Hamilton, Jay or Franklin, but rather I am, hopefully, following in their footsteps and trying to bring about an awareness of various issues, and at times using humor to educate.

I enjoy writing, and November is National Novel Writing Month.  It is my goal to complete the challenge of writing a 50,000 word novel during the month of November.  Once I have several chapters completed I intend to post them on another blog page (to be named soon), and look forward to any comments regarding this endeavor.

Writing can be a challenge.  You leave yourself open to criticism, and depending on your topic, you lay bare the very essence of your humanity.  Words have made and destroyed nations.  They have given rise to movements, and been the downfall of tyrants.  It is true what Edward Bulwer-Lytton wrote in his play Richelieu, “The pen is mightier than the sword.”

I hope to have a few chapters done and posted within the next few days.  I look forward to any feed back, and the challenge that lies ahead.

About Joseph Ordower

I'm a middle aged, some would say curmudgeon, who is sick, tired and truly frustrated with the way things are going in a country (America) that he loves, honors and respects.
This entry was posted in Thoughts on life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

