Curiosity and the cat

This past Sunday a friend of mine came over to help me work on a car.  There was a time that I could do most things on my own, but with my physical problems it is getting harder and harder to do some of the simplest things.  A few months ago it took me two days to replace an alternator, something that once would have taken less than two hours.  So my friend Mike agreed to help.

Before I go any further, I need to tell you about a cat I have named Gizmo.  She is a ten-year old calico.  I got her when ex two and I were married.  She was a kitten, and grew up with the raccoons that we had, and thinks that she is part raccoon.  Because of her having lived outside with the raccoons for so long, and never having really been an indoor cat, she has a bad habit of going potty anywhere she wants in the house.  This is totally unacceptable, so she lives outside coming into the house periodically for visits.  The front porch and yard is her domain, and she knows every inch of the area.  If there is something different, or out-of-place she will check it out until she is sure that everything is okay.

Now, back to the car repair.  We needed to replace the two coil packs on the car, along with the plugs and changing the oil.  We pulled the car onto a ramp, and Mike was under the car working on draining the oil.  I was sitting on the steps when Gizmo came up to me and nudge my hand to be petted.  She sat with me for a while being petted and looking at Mike.

Curious cat

She then jumped down off the porch and slowly walked over to Mike.  She looked under the car at him, then proceeded to climb on to his lap/belly.  She did a couple of circles on him, and then laid down on his stomach.

I guess she decided that he was okay, and she could nap on him.  Hope you enjoy the picture.  I know that I cracked up watching this cat scope out the stranger under the car.

About Joseph Ordower

I'm a middle aged, some would say curmudgeon, who is sick, tired and truly frustrated with the way things are going in a country (America) that he loves, honors and respects.
This entry was posted in Humor, Pets, Thoughts on life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

