The pie man

Today is Thanksgiving, and I was tasked with making desserts for today.  I was given free rein to make what I wanted, so I went a little nuts and spent yesterday baking.

I love to cook and try different things.  I especially have become enamored with desserts.  I guess it is my sweet tooth.  So yesterday I spent the day baking.  I made two pumpkin pies from scratch, and they both look and smell wonderful.  I also made a key lime pie, something I fell in love with during a visit to the Keys several years ago.  Then there was the cheesecakes.

When I was a kid my uncle Orv’s mother would make the most wonderful cheesecakes.  It was one of the things that I remember about Grandma G, and something I always looked forward to.  Over the past few years I decided to learn to make cheesecake, and while mine never have turned out like her’s, they aren’t bad.  I made one plain and one with chocolate, caramel and pecans.  It looks great, and I can’t wait to have a piece later today.  I also made chocolate muffins filled with cheesecake.  I did have one of them last night, and it was wonderful.

I had a wonderful time baking and making all these wonderful desserts yesterday, but I am paying the price today.  My legs are so weak and rubbery that I can barely stand or walk, but I know that the various pies will be great, at least I hope.  So I guess I’ll just sit and rest today and eat pies plus the other assorted foods that come my way.

Was all the effort yesterday and the pain and discomfort today worth it?  I guess the proof will be in the pie.

About Joseph Ordower

I'm a middle aged, some would say curmudgeon, who is sick, tired and truly frustrated with the way things are going in a country (America) that he loves, honors and respects.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Thoughts on life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

