At least they called!

I was working on my last post when the phone rang.  It was the neurology clinic.  For some reason they always call the home phone, when I have told them, and they were supposed to note in their records, to call the cell.  I’m not always able to get to the house phone, but I always have the cell in my pocket.

Anyway, like I said, the neurology clinic called, and told me that my appointment for today, the one that they set up due to my having numbness and motor control issues on my right side a week and a half ago was canceled.  The doctor had an emergency come up and they will send a letter with the new appointment date.

Now I know that they have more than one doctor in this clinic.  I have met several of the others.  So this begs that question:  Is it impossible for a doctor other than the one you have been assigned to see you?  What would they do if I was still having numbness and other issues?  Would they simply tell me to go to the ER and take up valuable ER space, time, energy and resources?  ER visits should be reserved for EMERGENCIES!  Not for, “Well, we can’t see you today for your appointment, but you can go to the ER if you want.”

This is part of the reason that public healthcare is so out of control.  You have a doctor’s office that has more than one doctor, and yet if your doctor can’t see you then you get bumped to God only knows when.  In the private sector of medicine, if your doc is not available they will give you the option of seeing one of the others in the office.  If you decline, then it’s on YOU.  But, with public healthcare, especially when it is dealing with a chronic illness, you simply get told that you have to wait in the queue until next time.

So, wait I will, unless I have another attack like the last one.  Then I am just going to go to the ER and take up space.  The sad part is that I know they are going to look me over, and tell me to call the neurology clinic.

Some days I feel like I have one foot nailed to the floor, and I am trying to get somewhere, anywhere, but all I do is go in circles.

About Joseph Ordower

I'm a middle aged, some would say curmudgeon, who is sick, tired and truly frustrated with the way things are going in a country (America) that he loves, honors and respects.
This entry was posted in Doctor's visits, Illness, Public healthcare and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

